Kannur district derived its name from the location of its headquarters at Kannur town. The old name ‘Cannanore’ is the anglicised form of the Malayalam word Kannur. According to one opinion, ‘Kannur’ is a derivation from Kanathur, an ancient village, the name of which survives even today in one of the wards of Kannur Municipality. Another version is that Kannur might have assumed its name from one of the , deities of the Hindu pantheon, a compound of two words, Kannan (Lord Krishna) and Ur (place) making it the place of Lord Krishna. In this context, it is worth mentioning that the deity of the Katalayi Sreekrishna temple was originally installed in a shrine at Katalayi Kotta in the south eastern part of the present Kannur town.
Triangular fort overlooking the Arabian Sea was built in 1505 , by the Portuguese.
Key fauna- elephant, sloth bear, mouse deer etc. Rich variety of birds and reptiles can also be seen.
Picuresque hilly town besides the sea. Light house, Ezhimala Naval Academy
Small hill resort ideal for trekking.
Long, clean and quit beach near Kannur town.
Ideal hilly place with rich and rare flora.
Famous for Sree Ramaswami Temple adorned with exquisitw carvings.
Famous dam and a picnic spot with gardens and boating.
Residence of Arrackal Ali Rajas, the only Muslim royal family in the state.
A drive-in-Beach, located on the Thalasseri – Kannur route, it is one of the longest (25km) and cleanest in the state.
Atop the Alathur or Velimala hill near the town are the ruins of an ancient temple and a perennial natural spring.
Former French Colony. Scenic enclave of Pondichery UT, famous for the sea skirting roads and unique culture with French flavour.
Famous for Raja Rajeswara Temple and Trichambaram Temple.
Historical place famous for producing most of the India’s circus artists. Magnificient fort on the Thalasseri beach was built by the British in 1708.
Famous “Parassini Muthappan Temple” situated here. Also famous for the unique snake park dedicated to the preservation and conservation of snakes and lot of small scale industrial area, Engineering Collge, National Institute Fashion Technology, Ayurvrdic Medical College etc.
Residence of German scholar Rev. Dr. Herman Gundert, who compiled the first Malayalam Dictionary and published the first news paper in Malayalam. He also built a church on Nettur Hill (near Thalasseri) in 1889.